Abiding In Him/The Secret Place

Last Sunday morning I woke up with such an appreciation to serve God it truly overwhelmed me. I even made the comment to my wife at 7am in the morning, “What a privilege an honor it is to be called to preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ.” As always I was excited to preach that morning but I felt that particular day a “focus” to hit the pulpit and preach His word; my wife even made the statement afterwards on our way home that I appeared to be more comfortable up there while I preached. I can only pray and hope that as time progresses my development as a pastor will bring more glory to Him which is my heart throughout this next season and my entire life. We have been for the last two weeks in a series called, “Abiding in Him,” where the emphasis is time alone in the secret place. I felt like God wanted me to develop a foundation among the people to seek Him and His will and so I am doing just that the best way I know how. Last Sunday I preached from John 15:7-8 where Jesus stated, “If you remain in Me and My words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want and it shall be given to you.” When I read this I paused for a minute and thought to myself I can ask for anything I want and God will give it to me and then I thought God is not a genie either so what am I missing. And there it was the prerequisite to answered prayer is God’s word remaining in us; why is it so important to be filled with God’s word? Because His word transforms us and the way we think which is imperative to answered prayer. Paul says it best in Romans 12:2, “Don’t copy the behaviors and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.” The mind saturated with God’s word becomes a new person and begins to think like God thus knowing God’s will for their life and whatever they ask for according to His will for your life He gladly gives it.

The secret place is where we experience genuine intimacy with Him where we are reminded of His love for us and we pour out our love for Him, it’s where we find peace to get us through the day. Jesus said that, “I am the vine you are the branches and apart from me you can do nothing.” Apart from Him we can do nothing, in Him we can do anything; sky is the limit! And it is in the secret place where we remain in Him and His words in us.

Leave a Reply

