It’s Only the Beginning

I last left off with telling you guys how faithful God is and still I continue to do so. I first would like to apologize for not being consistent with blogging; things on my end have been kind of hectic. After arriving from our travels things began to happen for example we moved into the parsonage, a nice four bedroom house that my family and I are truly blessed to have. One might say why so much room? My answer would be it fits nice having one child at 17 months to have her own room, we also have another girl on the way who will have her own room once we will feel comfortable to let her sleep on her own and I’m not trying to brag but now that I’m pastoring it feels great to have my own study and my wife would tell you the same though she tried to turn it into a study and sewing room combo. I love my wife. I want to speak briefly about the study before I go into what this blog post is about. My study in a sense is more than just a room filled with books and a desk or in other words an office; it’s a place where I meet God though I am fully aware of His presence everywhere. It’s the quiet place where in the stillness of the day I go to hear from Him, read about Him and talk to Him. I told myself that I will never boast in the credentials that God has blessed me with and that it isn’t these credentials that got me to where I am today. Instead I will boast in Christ and the quiet place for the things that I have today, my family, a roof over our heads, my education, and so on. God is good and I would encourage you to go deeper in your walk with Christ because in His presence there is fullness of Joy.

I have been deciding whether or not this blog would be a conclusion of what I preached after Sundays or updates about my family and I, and I have decided that this blog will be for both. I’m going to put on here the scriptures that I preached and may even add further thoughts on what I preached about. I will be pastoring this church for the next year so I will be learning more than I will be teaching because I truly feel that God is “training” me. Tomorrow will be my fourth Sunday preaching, well actually I won’t be preaching because tomorrow is the church’s annual fellowship gathering at the park and I look forward to getting to know my congregation which is the advice I have received from mentors as a priority. By getting to know my congregation it allows me to preach in a way that relates to the people so I look forward to being quick to listen and slow to speak. The first Sunday I preached,

8/28, I preached on John 17 with an emphasis on 20-25. As the first African American pastor this congregation has ever been under I felt impressed to share a picture of Gods heart and view of the church. In this chapter Jesus is praying for Himself, His disciples and then He prays for us, you and I as believers today. This prayer is known as His final prayer before the cross and He prays that we would be one thus showing us the importance of unity. I also extracted from the book of Ephesians 4:3 where Paul tells us to be DILIGENT to preserve the UNITY of the Spirit in the bond of peace. I concluded that the reason He wanted us to be united at all cost was so that the world would know that God sent Him, verse 25, 26 of the 17th chapter of John. Jesus said in John 13:34, 35, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this ALL will know that you are My disciples, if you love one another. Our unity in Christ evangelizes to the world; it’s obvious to see because whenever there’s a Christian leader who falls the world is quick to condemn him. As Christians it is our responsibility to love and be at peace with each other no matter what race or denomination; by this all will know that we belong to Him.

The second week, 9/4 I preached on Mark 4:35-41 where we see Jesus calming the storm. The main points I pulled from were verse 35, “Let us go over to the other side.” If Jesus says, “Let us go over to the other side,” then no matter what we will get to the other side. I love Gods word because it always accomplishes the thing for which it was sent and never returns back void. If God said it then He will do it PERIOD. Verse 36, “…And other boats were with Him.” I pondered at this verse and thought to myself wherever Jesus was that He always drew a crowd, (remember Jesus feeding the 5000 men only were counted not including women and children) and as a matter of fact He had just finished preaching before He got into the boat so a lot of people must’ve have been there. Why is it that other boats were with Him going to the other side and not a multitude of boats going with him to the other side? My answer is because they saw the storm that was coming and chose to stay behind, those that didn’t cross. To make that applicable to you and I, there are few who will go with Jesus wherever He leads them whether it be through blue skies and sunny days or cloudy with thunderstorms. We have to make up our minds and say, “Lord I will praise You in this storm and I will lift my hands for You are who You are no matter where I am and every tear I’ve cried You hold in Your hand, You never left my side and though my heart is torn I will praise You in this storm.” When the storm came the reaction of the disciples allows us to know the severity of the storm, they said to Him, “…don’t you care that we are perishing?” Oh but the reaction of Jesus is classic, it says the He was in the stern sleep. Jesus could’ve been anywhere else in the boat but He was in the stern, the place where the captain of the boat resides or in other words, though He was sleep yet He was fully in control. This verse is somewhat humorous to me because it gives me such great comfort knowing my savior isn’t worried about a thing. Though the faith of the disciples appeared weak, their prayers were on fire and because they continued to pray in the midst of the storm it caused God to move, verse 39, “And He got up and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Peace be still.” When stuff around us is out of our control we cannot allow it to keep us away from praying to God. After Jesus rebuked their faith it says they became very much afraid and said to one another, “Who then is this, that even the wind and the sea obey Him?” In other words they once feared the storms but God had redirected their fears to where it belonged, to Him. Blessed is the man who fears the Lord!! A few things can be learned from this chapter, 1. In the midst of our storms keep the faith. 2. Never cease to pray. 3. Look for a demonstration of Gods power because He wants to show you another realm of Himself.

For the sake of length, last week I preached on an aspect of Leadership, (vision and purpose), and this week I feel lead to preach on keeping our vows to God which again won’t be posted till next week because tomorrow we are have our annual fellowship at the park. I never thought I would be in Greensburg, Kentucky preaching, I am amazed at the work of God and I truly believe that greater things are yet to come not just for me but for you too. Keep the faith, never cease to pray and look for a demonstration of Gods power. Till next time may you be showered in the blessings of God our Father who is worthy of all our praise. My family and I love you so much and we greatly appreciate your support and your prayers. God YOU ARE AWESOME WOOOOOHHHHOOOOOOOOO, lol sometimes I have to let one of those out.

Cornell

20110917-094615.jpg

2 responses to “It’s Only the Beginning”

  1. Mom W says :

    So glad you are blogging again 🙂 It’s fun to read what you are preaching on, and to hear your feelings on all the exciting things going on in your lives.! I’m glad you are finding your “comfort zone” at the new church, and doing it the way you feel God would have you be a pastor. That is important — remember, it was not a mistake that God has called YOU to preach, he knows you, and wants you to be yourself as you share the word. Can’t wait to come and encourage you in person… love you ! Your other “mom”

Leave a Reply

