Be Still and Know That I Am God!

The daily typical schedule for me is, wake up bright and early and come to the church. Spend a quarter of the day there and come home to my lovely family and spend time with them as a whole before my wife is off to work. The remainder of the day is daddy daughter time. I treasure every moment I get because it’s life and a blessed one at that. But I truly value those moments with my family because I am fully aware that I will never get those precious moments back. I prayed to the Lord a while ago that he would teach me to number my days that I may see the importance of His will. Everything that I have is a result of seeking His kingdom, my family being a part of that and so what I have I try my best to love to the best of my ability though I’m not perfect. This introduction does not have a lot to do with the church because this last week I was not there, I took the week off to stay at home with my daughter because momma went to Seattle for work for a week. So in case you’re wondering what does this have to do with the church, everything because my family is my church.

I learned a lot last week spending time with my daughter. I guess the main thing is how much she loves her mother because when we went to Louisville to pick her up from the airport, my daughter seemed to forget who I was to get to her. But in all actuality though Makayla is thirteen months, she is very receptive yet quiet in her learning. She picks up things without emphasizing she knows, one day she just does it. She is a quiet learner. I believe that’s how God wants us to be. As a matter of fact 1 Thessalonians 4:11, Paul says, “and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and to attend to your own business…” So difficult to do in a world that tells us to be flamboyant, to show the world everything that our hands have worked for. Or to take it deeper, to intentionally with wrong motive flaunt what God has blessed us with, as if to say, “God blessed me and not you.” Like my daughter, I am learning how to sit back and watch God move and teach me more about Him. Unlike my beloved Makayla who doesn’t have a care in the world, I struggle sometimes with the many cares or worries I fight with daily. I hope you guys don’t mind an up and coming Pastor being honest with you guys. I mean I realize that as I spend time with my family, a thought will sometime creep into my head and sound something like this, “Cornell, nothing is written in stone, you don’t have a clue as to what you will do for work. You’ve talked with a few people but what does that mean, you have a family to support and how in the world will you do that in ministry.” And then I’m reminded that my Jesus said that if I would seek His kingdom first, everything else will be added. He also said that, If He is for me than who can be against me. And that if I draw close to Him, He will draw close to me.

I get excited about the God I serve, because He is not a man that should lie, if He spoke it then He will do it and it will be good. His word never returns back void, it will accomplish the thing for which it was sent, AMEN! He says, to “be still and know that I am God.” this verse blows my mind, because we live in a scary world and if we are in it, worldly, it forces us to try to do things with our own hands, or in other words fight our own battles. Paul says, “not to be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewing of our minds.” What we take in daily is who we become mentally. Choose to take in God’s word till it becomes apart of you, till it floods out of your ears is how I see it and still do more.

My wife and daughter inspire me because they are quiet learners, both from God and from me as a leader of the household. As I look to God they look to me and it takes all of us to reflect the image of God. As for fighting the battles we have ahead of us and yours too, I want to leave you with a word of encouragement, choose to be a quiet learner, don’t question God, or worry about the future, tomorrow will take care of itself each day has enough trouble of its own. Seek the kingdom first, let His will for your life be your number one priority because He knows what’s best for you, we think we know what is best for us. In the book of Exodus chapter 14 verses 13 and 14, God took a people who in the eyes of the Egyptians were slaves and brought them after the exodus, which in the greek means, “a going out,” to the red sea as the Egyptians were in hot pursuit to kill them. As the Hebrew people first, “cried out to God,” which I believe they questioned God, and then they complained to Moses, whose reply was, “The Lord will fight for you while you keep silent.” Why would God bring His people through all that to be saved? Why would He make His people go through battles? Why not just take us through with no battles? So that our enemies would know that He is God who fights for His people. All the glory to Him. I’m going to end there because I feel like I could go on and on and on about the AWESOME GOD I serve. Hallelujah!!!!! Just remember to be a quiet learner and know that the LORD will fight for you while you keep silent.

Thank you for your time and prayers, we love you all!!

Just a thought!!

One response to “Be Still and Know That I Am God!”

  1. Mom (in-law) says :

    Sounds like a great week to me! I love your insights, and your encouragement, Cornell – your writing comes from the heart – awesome…..

Leave a Reply

